Which 7mm 16t wagon kit do I buy ?

Stubby47

• RMweb Gold

Hi all,

I'm intending to build a 16t steel coal wagon for the Cement Shed layout. But which one is best for a complete novice ? I'd prefer a plastic one (I think) unless a very simple metal (brass?) kit is available.

Any and all help gratefully received.

Stu

Hi Stubby :icon_wave:

I wouldn't worry at all about getting any of the plastic kits- if you've done a 4mm kit then 7mm are a breeze- for one thing they're easier to see and handle!

Not sure exactly who does 16t Minerals although Peco do for sure and it looks a good 'un (PMP of this Parish did a detailed article in RM fairly recently about it)

Parkside kits include transfers which gives them an edge over Slaters, apparently.

I don't know if there's any etched brass kits but a wagon might make a better starting point for jumping into the world of soldering than going in the deep end like what I did, with a loco kit...:icon_rolleyes: :icon_redface:

No probs, mate... you do realise you're on a slippery slope now..?! :icon_mrgreen:

We all start out thinking "Oh I'll just have one wagon...." ...which needs a loco to pull it... and then a few more wagons so it doesn't look lonely... and a brake van... and a layout to run them on... and a second loco... :icon_lol: :icon_tongue: :icon_thumbsup2:

The Slaters 7mm wagon kits DO include transfers ; they are currently using methfix transfers.

The Peco O gauge kits have waterslide transfers and the Parkside Dundas kits have pressfix transfers (with some of the newer kits using waterslide).

Well you have a choice between the Peco and Parkside plastic kits. Both have their merits, but personally I would go with the Parkside version, I think I have built about 15 of them todate, and they build into a nice solid wagon which just screams out to be heavily weathered!