Burton On Trent in N2

RBE

So, Millers Dale is mothballed at the mo and the likelihood of me getting the garden workshop built and finished this year is pretty much a pipe dream of epic proportions therefore getting MD back up and running is sadly a year or two down the line. Now I am a hands on modeler and keeping my butt firmly clamped onto my hands modelling wise makes for a grumpy Cav therefore I need something to do until I have the space to build MD. Cue Burton on Trent. Looking for somewhere in the midlands that realistically is able to provide a scenic backdrop to the N gauge stock that I am building up for MD I inadvertently looked at Burton. The trackplan is simple yet with its small PW yard to the east provides mainline running, station activity and shuntiness into and out of the PW yard. It has what I need. Its also a real place so fits my new found love for modeling real locations. There are issues though but a quick flash of my modelers licence to the authorities should take care of that.

First up is compression, although the real location translates to approx 9ft in N its still too large for what I have in mind so the squishometer has been broken out of storage and used to reduce the trackplan into a 6ft scenic section. It has worked ok but will require slight shortening of some services i.e. 6 coach HST set for example. I'm pretty happy to do PC, TGS, TS, TS, TS, RB, TF, PC though to be honest.

Secondly, Shobnall Road bridge. The bridge to the south of the station was built somewhere between 1988 and 1993 but not sure when. As my stock is 1988 based this could be an issue however to provide a scenic break I MUST model it. I can pretty much get away with all of my stock except for the class 45 however if I set the layout to span the period 1988 to 1993 then I can run all my stock and just use the old modelers licence for the bridge.