Goods Yard Ballast?

I'm a newbie, not a winge, simply a fact.

Now,   I'm modelling a Goods Yard based around 1960.

I'm getting confused by differing opinions as to whether I ballast the track in the yard or not.

PLEASE HELP
Regards

GKman

Lightweight filler

post-5868-0-86384800-1439494993.jpg

Many other brands are available

Build up the baseboard around the track to sleeper-top level with irregular pieces of cardboard, torn not cut, first.

Then get creative with the filler. I find a kids glue spatula ideal to spread it between the sleepers.

A basecoat of chocolate/ dark truffle/ black emulsion paint next.

I used a mixture of ash from the ash-pan of a steam loco, plus ash from a barbeque( to lighten the colour mix) crushed, and sieved thro' a 1mm mesh tea-strainer, fixed with pva brushed liberally on the required area before sprinkling the ash in place - vacuum up the excess 24 hours later. Loco-shed yards would have ash/gunge up to sleeper tops, in goods yards the sleepers would, more often than not, be on top of the ash ballast.

Edited by bike2steam

I used a mixture of ash from the ash-pan of a steam loco, plus ash from a barbeque( to lighten the colour mix) crushed, and sieved thro' a 1mm mesh tea-strainer, fixed with pva brushed liberally on the required area before sprinkling the ash in place - vacuum up the excess 24 hours later. Loco-shed yards would have ash/gunge up to sleeper tops, in goods yards the sleepers would, more often than not, be on top of the ash ballast.

I would be cautious about using real ash. I  did on a layout and it turned out to be quite corrosive, especially to soldered joints.

Jeremy

• RMweb Premium

I agree with the last comment.  A neighbouring club in the 1990's* decided to  use real NER ash ballast to ballast their NER branch.  It turned out to be slightly conductive with all the problems you might expect.

*  They know who they are and I will not embarrass them.