Triang TT Technical advice

Marakas

Hi

my quest to become operational continues! In the meantime, I am in the process of both building a whitemetal 4F, and re-spraying a couple of Triang Loco shells.

My first question is:  Can anyone advise me on replacement wheels for the Triang 0-6-0 chassis - not too complicated mind you, I'm no engineer.

Second question, can anyone suggest a good power supply compatible with the Triang motors, I read somewhere that they take a more powerful output in amps? Will Gaugemaster suit?

Joined the 3mm society as suggested.....its all in there, but digging it out and joining the dots can be quite a challenge!!!! I am starting a small prototype layout in late autumn to practice some modelling skills on....should be fun...missus will go mad!

Cheers

Mark!

I modelled in Triang TT many years ago. Although I never re-wheeled any locos I found any power unit / controller designed for 12V DC OO was OK for TT.

Over the years I used a Hornby Dublo Marshal 3, Codar with simulator, Hammant & Morgan Powermaster etc and various others. Never had any problems at all. I dug out my TT stuff a while ago and ran it a bit, using my Gaugemaster hand held controller. No problems other than most of the track was completely worn out, as were most locos !!

Good luck - a nice scale is TT.

Brit15

• RMweb Premium

There was an article entitled Re-wheeling a Triang chassis by Dudley Withers in Mixed Traffic no. 75. He used Kean Maygib wheels, no longer available, but the recent 3mm Society SQ wheels would do the same and be even better. Never done it myself or even thought about it, but I would imagine that the problems are:

(1) you might need to bush the axle holes; all current 3mm axles are 1/8", not sure what Triang is.

(2) if you re-use the existing Triang motor and worm you might need to work out how to remove the gear wheel from the driving axle and re-use it.