Hi,

Long time admirer, first time modeler. 

I am having difficulty knowing where to place signals on my layout. Unfortunately I have know experience in building a model railway and this is my first attempt. The small layout I have designed is attached below. I feel the track I have put together offers me enough running opportunity to keep things interesting in the limited space I will have available, although suggestions on improvements are welcomed from more experienced modelers! I used Hornby setrack for this and I understand most of you will be horrified at that, but I have some already and want to use it up, and as a first time modeler it seems sensible to stay away from flexi-track for now. 

Would anyone be able to offer any assistance on where signals would need to be placed? As this is a steam era layout, semaphore signals will need to be used rather than the modern type signals! The viewing side is not necessarily set in stone and could be moved to the other side if required. 

Thanks,

post-27948-0-57128200-1450608148_thumb.png

• RMweb Gold

When considering signalling the first thing is to know which Company/FBR Region and the era being modelled.  The reason for this is that while the basic principles were relatively standard there were numerous ways of doing various things especially in respect of shunting signals.

So in this case answers to the place and era question is the first step.

When considering signalling the first thing is to know which Company/FBR Region and the era being modelled.  The reason for this is that while the basic principles were relatively standard there were numerous ways of doing various things especially in respect of shunting signals.

So in this case answers to the place and era question is the first step.

Hi,

I have 2 GWR Loco's so it makes sense for this layout to be a GWR Branchline terminus. Both are DCC and I have a DCC controller.

• RMweb Gold