Respectable O Gauge MK3s

• RMweb Gold

I guess it's about time I started a thread on here for my O Gauge MK3 coaches so to kick things off, let's get the formalities out of the way.

Firstly, I'm pretty new to railway modelling proper, my modelling skills are best described as 'learning', I'm not a train spotter and I don't wear an anorak. I do, however, have a passion for modern image, like watching trains whiz by, have liked trains since the age of 3 and suffer quite badly with the 'I'm not sure that's right' syndrome also known as mild OCD. I'm also quite partial to the HST.

Ok, now that we've got that out of the way, I really want an O Gauge HST.

Now I know PRMRP do a brass kit for both the power cars and MK3 coaches but there's two issues here. 1) The windows are wrong on the coaches (I'm not slating Pete Snr and Pete Jnr - I know them both), and 2) despite Pete and Dave (Lowery) trying to explain, I'm way off possessing the skills to build the brass kits. Trust me, I'm trying very hard to learn with a class 47!

That brings me to the old Skytrex MK3 coach which looks about as much like a MK3 as a London Bus. Hmmm, OK, that's a bit harsh but it's probably true. They're also £90 from Dave @ Skytrex and made of plastic, which made it rude not to grab one and see what I could do with it.

In the box you get 2 sides, 2 ends, a floor, a roof, glazing, seats, cast bogies and some gangway ends. You still need some wheels but that'll give you a complete coach for around £110! It's also not a bad kit (for a beginner like me) either if you ignore the errors.

As mentioned, I'm no Brian Daniels, but encouraged by reading his, and other people's threads, I set about correcting the errors. In case anyone isn't aware, they are:

Coach ends look like a MK2 and gangways are completely the wrong shape

Roof Vents are too small

Windows are too big, toilet window is too small and missing the cross bar

Tumblehome is er.....a 20 degree angle