GWR Branch - Castle Down. Mostly GWR with an odd SR working

sjrixon

• RMweb Gold
post-19113-0-50575000-1503499521_thumb.jpg

Lots of the old links to picture are broken. I'm not linking them again, so here is a google album with them all in.

This project was never meant to happen, but the world conspired against me to make it inevitable. I've a 009 layout that I've been building for a few years, nice and simple, small and easy to complete, that I will never complete! But my first love has always been the GWR, most of my stock is centered around that, but clearly I didn't have the time to build in 00 and anyway I am a member of a club, so my stock can run there, or so I kept telling myself.

Having been away from the hobby for a while I'd not seen the improvements that had come from DCC. I saw a largish GWR branch at a local exhibition running on JMRI using iPhones for the controllers and knew I needed to know more. Next I had the fortune to join an operating session of a fellow club member's large DCC layout, this gave me a real insight into what was really possible when I thew out all my preconceptions of DC operation. We also started to have a DCC night at my club, converting the layout to work on DC and DCC, therefore I needed a way to move a few key locos to DCC.

Next came a simple setup of a SPROGIII, an old laptop and some test track. I'd already had one loco chipped by a friend so I had a start, I bought 3 Zimo chips and I was off! One Pannier was a plug in and go, the next was a Bachmann split chassis conversion, the other one is in the draw for now. I setup a small board, 3 points and a few trucks. The control from my mobile phone was amazing.