If you're new to the forum this is an ideal place to introduce yourself.

Hello from the Scottish Borders

davecov

Hi everybody! I thought I should introduce myself having just signed up to the forum. I stumbled across this site when I Googled for information about Silhouette Cameo and JCL's huge thread came up in the results.

My name is Dave Coventry, I am 58 years old and live in the Scottish Borders in the village of Stow which now has a new station as part of the Borders Railway. I stopped modelling at the age of 17 when I joined the Royal Navy in 1976 but I returned to modelling in 2004 and the following year I founded The Airfix Tribute Forum . Since 2004 I have built about 220 models, the highlight for me being a 1/350 scratchbuild of HMS Queen Elizabeth that was built for the Royal Navy and displayed at her naming ceremony in July 2014.

I am a newbie when it comes to railway modelling having only made a few AIrfix/Dapol kits in recent years. Here is a modified and rather clean Airfix Signal Box that I built last year:

Signal_Box_GB_2016_062.JPG

Signal_Box_GB_2016_066.JPG

I have never had any sort of railway layout but it is my intention to have a small static layout so that I can show some of my completed Airfix/Dapol models. For the layout I have about fifty Airfix/Dapol kits sitting in boxes awaiting my attention (although they won't all be displayed together) and I would also like to build some buildings/infrastructure from scratch. I have always been comfortable using plastic card but my arthritis is making it much more difficult, hence my purchase of a Silhouette Cameo this week.

Having run the ATF for almost 12 years I appreciate just how much information a forum such as RMweb has hidden within and I am looking forward to spending a lot of time reading threads and asking questions from much more knowledgeable people than myself. I am also looking forward to making new friends!

Dave