If this has been already covered then I apologise for the duplication. Maybe someone could direct me to the appropriate thread?

Anyway, I've decided to bite the bullet and start doing some proper modelling as the hobby isn't getting any more affordable and I'm on a budget. I've recently bought a Lima class 31 and 37, and I intend to change the motors for ones found in CD players. I've seen it done on YouTube and thought "even i could do that." The ultimate plan is to add Express Models lighting and Hornby TTS sound (I'm on a budget, remember). I have read some things about the operating voltage of these motors and I know that Hornby chips don't do CV5 to reduce to voltage going to the motor. So, my questions are thus;

1. Can I use a series of diodes between the chip and motor to reduce the voltage it receives?

2. Or will it be ok and I don't need to bother with diodes? Just carry on as normal?

Many thanks in advance for your help!

Sorry about the essay, but I'm a teacher and I can't do brief!

Re CD motors...

The diameter you need is 25mm but the width you need depends upon the bogie wheel arrangement. The standard width motor - 12mm is ok for Bo-Bo and four wheel steam tender drive but will foul on the centre wheels of a Co-Co or six wheel tender drive steamer, for which you need the slim 9.5mm motor.

As you are aware these motors are rarely 12v and you are wise to consider knocking down the decoder voltage output, as your basic decoders don't support Vmax adjustment, however be aware that the drive voltage is pulse width modulated not variable 0 - 12 volts and diodes may not be the best way to control it, you may need hi-speed switching diodes, so please await instruction from an expert.

Re TTS...