First layout - (Untitled) GWR / BR (W) Shunting Puzzle

TheRockingRoadie

Hi All,

Thanks for looking - My name is Lorry and this is my first layout build, besides from a Hornby trackmatt when i was 12...

I've been out of the hobby for a long while; I was brought up with Steam Engines (ones without rails, normally found at the pub), and I'm also a musician, playing bass in various bands. After a resent career change, I found myself with more time for steam and gigging, but also decided to blow the cobwebs off of my mostly GWR 00 gauge rolling stock, which was still hiding in the loft. Next thing i know I've discovered eBay, and my loco fleet has expanded into early/late crest BR, and green diesels, oops!

Like most people, I suffer from a lack of space, and have always been drawn to the small inglenook shunting puzzles. I got to a stage where i was fed up of having to set track up and pack it away again, every time i wanted to 'play trains', so decided to build a small layout, to have track permanently fixed to, that could be tucked away when not in use. I started to put together a basic brief.

The brief:

-Small inglenook shunting layout, 00 Gauge

-Based in the Western region, but very lose as to a specific place of time, allowing flexibility

-Utilize as many items as i can from my previous modelling exploits

-Approximate dimensions of 4' by 1'

-Analogue control, with point motors and automatic tension lock uncouplers

-Code 100 track with electrofrog pointwork

-Easily portable, with a view to possibly exhibiting

One Saturday afternoon in April i decided to take the plunge, headed to B&Q, and knocked up a 4' by 18" baseboard, with an exterior grade plywood top, and 34mm square softwood framework. The board was then covered in cork sheet, which I obtained from my local model shop.