Imperfections when repainting

Hi everyone,

I am currently doing a repainting of a 2 car DMU using a paintbrush and Phoenix paints over a base coat of humbrol grey primer.

However after finishing a coat there a lots of tiny raised dots all over the surface area which are mostly only visible when holding the model up to the light but are prevelant nonetheless. I am hoping someone may be able to advise me what I am doing wrong? Have I not mixed the paint correctly, something to do with my paintbrush or maybe something else?

I have attached a photo which illustrates my point a little although my camera is not the greatest.

Thanks, and apologies if this is posted in the wrong section, I am fairly new to RMweb.

post-28739-0-93558900-1496072794_thumb.jpg

Edited by bart2day

If you want a good looking finish on a passenger vehicle, I recommend using an airbrush, or a rattle can if you can find the right colour.  It is very difficult with brush painting to get that professional looking paint job.

John

Brush is finding tiny bits of debris, probably there before you primed the model. Lightly rub with very fine wet and dry, that should flatten the paint surface, this will also remove any brush stroke marks. Spraying is better , no reason with care that you cannot brush paint on. 

Sealing with a aerosol varnish coat will help to level the paint in due course as well.

Long winded process but either very fine wet and dry or maybe some kind of liquid abrasive like T'Cut. Warning! This advice is dependent on the thickness of the coat of paint applied and also method of application. Don't go mad with lots of excessive pressure. Your aiming to lightly polish away those imperfections rather than bear down into the whole surface of the paint.