Hey guys, I was getting a bit interested in building a kit from DJH Models, most likely a A1 Pep. I am completely new to this, so I need all the help I can get! I am having trouble on how, where, and when to paint certain parts of the loco. I also don't now what extra parts I need to buy to make it detailed (like sprung buffers or couplings). I am wanting the train to look the best it can, so just any advice for a young person like me would help! I am also going to buy a small wagon or coach kit to practice with before hand to get a bit of experience before I get into the real project. 

Thank you, Steven

• Like 1

• RMweb Premium

First of all, welcome to the forum. There is a huge aount of  help and advice on here, either via a search, or by asking the question (as you have already done).

Being the coward that I am, I have never attempted an etched brass/whitemetal kit ofn a steam loco, and a Peppercorn A1 seems like an ambitious choice.

I would recommend starting with a wagon kit in etched brass to start with.

I do not know whether you plan on soldering or glueing the kit, but my recommendation would be to solder, as that skill will come in  handy all over your layout.

Sorry for ther vague advice, but go for it anyway.

Regards

Ian

First of all, welcome to the forum. There is a huge aount of  help and advice on here, either via a search, or by asking the question (as you have already done).

Being the coward that I am, I have never attempted an etched brass/whitemetal kit ofn a steam loco, and a Peppercorn A1 seems like an ambitious choice.

I would recommend starting with a wagon kit in etched brass to start with.

I do not know whether you plan on soldering or glueing the kit, but my recommendation would be to solder, as that skill will come in  handy all over your layout.

Sorry for ther vague advice, but go for it anyway.

Regards

Ian