Loch Anload

pitbull1845

Hi,

Well its been a year since my life took a turn I wasn't expecting, and as a result the modelling stopped and all my stock was sold off too.

I've been thinking about starting again for a while now, and I've finally pulled my finger out. For those that have looked at my layouts before you'll know I'm not very good at sticking to one idea. I'm hoping that things will be different this time. My modelling budget is a lot smaller now, so I need to keep things simple. 

The layout is going to be set in the late 80's early 90's and will be somewhere in Scotland. I don't know much about the area, but I like the idea of short trains hauled by 26's, 37's and 47's.

I have both of Ian Futers books about Modelling Scotland's railways, which I've found very useful, and of course the internet/YouTube. I'm not going to commit myself to a particular area or line, it will be a generic location which hopefully gives a feel for the area. Maybe when I do some more research I'll narrow down the location a bit..

Part one (10'x2')  will be a Single track line with an island station, passing loop and a couple of sidings. This will link into  Part 2, 3 and 4 which will be a small terminus and a larger one.

I'm going to concentrate on one part at a time initially, and I'll hopefully convince the usual suspects to pop down to mine and assit with some brain storming and woodwork!   Half of my garage has now been converted into a bar "The Jolly Lobsta" so I'm hoping that will help greatly in recruiting some help..

Not the most exciting opening  I know, but now that I've started the topic, it should give me the incentive to carry on with the layout.

Edited by pitbull1845
  • Like 8

Welcome back Scott, Hope you have thing sorted out now and have got your mojo back glad to see your planning a Scottish layout if you need any help with location let me know I might be able to help.

Bruce