Gaugemaster DCC27 decoder not driving motor?

ianjeffery

Hi All,

have a weird one....

I have a GaugeMaster DCC27 decoder in a loco ( Hornby class 37 from 20 years ago )....

it was working ok, but never great. I then decided to amend the deceleration as it was taking ages to stop ( it somehow gained a vlaue of 94, rather than 3 !!! ).

since changing it, there seems to be NO movement from the motor at all now.

I know the motor works, as tried different chips and it runs fine - plus when reading all the CV values, the wheels turn very small amounts....

Anyone had similar issues ? they decoders seem quite poor quality.

• RMweb Premium

Hi All,

have a weird one....

I have a GaugeMaster DCC27 decoder in a loco ( Hornby class 37 from 20 years ago )....

it was working ok, but never great. I then decided to amend the deceleration as it was taking ages to stop ( it somehow gained a vlaue of 94, rather than 3 !!! ).

since changing it, there seems to be NO movement from the motor at all now.

I know the motor works, as tried different chips and it runs fine - plus when reading all the CV values, the wheels turn very small amounts....

Anyone had similar issues ? they decoders seem quite poor quality.

Have you tried a decoder reset? CV8=8

Cheers,

Midk

As stated above, setting CV8 value of 8 will reset most decoders, but do check the decoder manual to see if CV8 is the correct reset CV.  It will completely return the decoder to its default settings, including the address number to 3

It should be the CV value setting trialled for unresponsive decoders as it will restore everything to default values and often return what seems a non responsive decoder back to life.