Please use M,M&M only for topics that do not fit within other forum areas. All topics posted here await admin team approval to ensure they don't belong elsewhere.

Baseboard Construction

andyrawlins

I'm new to railway modelling and I am looking to build my first compact shelf layout in 7mm scale.  I want to build an ultra compact shunting layout and I'm thinking of building my shelf framework using 4" x 1" softwood and use a ply top.  My model will be quite narrow (around a foot or so) as you can see from the attached image, but reading many articles/blogs it appears that a lot of people use ply for the framework as well.  I was just wondering what are the pros and cons for each type of wood and would appreciate any advice really.

post-31008-0-77944000-1505144131_thumb.jpg

• Like 2

I have tried both.

Ply frames are too thin to glue/screw to the tops so I chose to glue & screw small softwood blocks to the frame ply. These have to be flush with the edge.

I then glued the top ply to the frame & glued/screwed to the small blocks. I therefore consider this to be more of a ply/softwood hybrid than a true ply frame.

If you use softwood for the frame, you can build the board by gluing/screwing the frame to the top.

Softwood will be much quicker but ply/softwood hybrid will be lighter.

Strength will depend on the dimensions of the materials you choose & how thorough you would be if building ply frames.

You mentioned it is your first layout, so it may be worth keeping things simple by using softwood. Be choosy about the wood & check that it is nice & straight when you buy it. 4x1 softwood should provide adequate support (4" vertical though - this may sound obvious but I have seen it laid the other way).

9mm ply should be ok, especially for a narrow layout. 12mm ply would be even more substantial.

I gave my boards a coat of varnish because I felt that this would give them extra protection against damp, either from the environment or when ballasting.