Lima Class 47 - VERY basic servicing question

AdmiralTrevor

I have a Lima class 47 with the usual Lima rattling motor - but this one also runs jerkily.

Can someone please tell a complete novice -

1 - where can I put oil on parts that can be seen without removing the body shell

and 2 -

where should I put spots of oil that can be seen when the body shell is removed.

Easy when you know how I suppose. I don't.

Thanks for any one's help

Take the body off... (Remove all 4 buffers and it will unclip)

The only place I ever oil lima locos is on the motor spindle.  it looks like a ball bearing in the centre of the motor.  put a drop of light machine oil on that, and on the other side behind the cog.

Run it for a few minutes to allow the oil to work its way in.

If the gears are dry, I use a little white grease.

Other than that, It shouldn't need anything else.  Lima motors are pretty robust and don't need a tremendous amount of maintenance.    The main thing is keeping the wheels clean!

Edited by Trains4U

Take the body off... (Remove all 4 buffers and it will unclip)

The only place I ever oil lima locos is on the motor spindle.  it looks like a ball bearing in the centre of the motor.  put a drop of light machine oil on that, and on the other side behind the cog.

Run it for a few minutes to allow the oil to work its way in.

If the gears are dry, I use a little white grease.

Other than that, It shouldn't need anything else.  Lima motors are pretty robust and don't need a tremendous amount of maintenance.    The main thing is keeping the wheels clean!

Thanks 4U - that's what I will do.                      Trevor

I find the brass wheels oxidise over time. Run some emery paper over the current collecting wheel running surface, oil the motor as trains4U states above and your loco should run as new (mine do and they're getting on for 25 years+ old).

Brit15

Edited by APOLLO