Google Ads are only seen by non-members of RMweb - Create an RMweb account and you'll only receive modelling ads.

Photo
- - - - -

D.C.C Overload

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 shaunthesheep277

shaunthesheep277

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 320 posts
  • LocationKingston upon Hull

Posted 06 December 2017 - 19:26

Hello I've had most problems but I can't get my head round this one

I've built a working railway excavator before but it's never been reliable so I've started building a new one

After seeing a thread on here of one built using a Tenshodo motor bogie link below

http://www.rmweb.co....rail-excavator/

now I've seen the insides of this motor and realized the motor needed separating from the rail pickups before fitting a decoder

DC running works fine but once I add a decoder into the mix the controller comes up with O.L (I assume overload)

Now since I've never used a Tenshodo motor before so It maybe the bogie but I've tried two decoders and both come up O.L

The old motor on the old digger was off a old Bachmann Plasser Tamper D.C.C fitted too

Google Ads are only seen by non-members of RMweb - Create an RMweb account and you'll only receive modelling ads.

#2 Phil S

Phil S

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 815 posts

Posted 07 December 2017 - 09:49

My first question is increasingly: 'Do you have a multimeter?' - If not - get one now - the cheapest costs less than a basic decoder (better ones cost more of course ... but there is no need to pay more than a sound decoder!! 8-)

The Tenshodo bogie is constricted with no 'wiring' - just metal contact strips from the wheel pickups to the motor - these MUST be split by cutting them, and moving them apart to ensure a safe gap.  CHECK NOW with a multi meter that NO CONNECTION exists between track/wheels/pickups and the motor.