My shelf layout journal

Conrail Joe

Hello everyone! New guy on the forum! I was directed here by AlcanMan, from youtube. It seems like a great active forum.

My name is Joe. I'm 41 years old from Rhode Island. I'm a fulltime college student on my way to a masters and an eventual Doctorate in clinical psychology. Why full-time college now you ask? Long story short, I used to drive a tractor trailer, but had a stroke in 2015, leaving me unable to drive commercially. As an Army veteran the VA has a rehab program to retrain me for a different career!

I've loved trains since I can remember. I have had a few completed layouts over the years, but have been layout-less for almost ten years.....yes ten!!!

I have gotten my fix weekly by attending operating sessions with a great group of guys, on their layouts. I also belong to a modular group, and attend operating sessions at a large club layout, the Providence Northern. I'll be posting up pictures every week of some great layouts I get to operate on!

The main reason why I have been without a layout is my fear of boredom with a small layout. I've realized that if I was bored with a layout then it would mean i HAVE a layout, which is better than not having one!

Following Alcanman's lead, I've decided to start with the same foot print... 9' x 15". I do have room for larger, but less is more right now! I'm debating between either the palmettospur as he has done, OR closer to home the Providence & Worcester Railroad's Slatersville running tracks. here's a description of the area. It's an end of a branch line, with a team track (with dock) a possible propane dealer, and a spur that goes into a building. I plan on freelancing the industries, but trying to stay as true to the prototype as I can with the track plan.

Last Picture is the track plan. I will have a staging cassette at the left end.

post-33331-0-92006600-1513891413_thumb.png

post-33331-0-29015300-1513891438_thumb.png

post-33331-0-63687000-1513891453_thumb.png