The Railways of Portland Dorset

Though my modelling interests are centred on East Anglia and London, probably because I lived the first forty years of my life in Essex I have been fortunate to live and work in deepest Dorset for the last fourteen years on Portland, famous for the stone used to build such iconic places as St Paul's and the Cenotaph in London. I'm a musician and music teacher by trade and am director of the Portland Rocks CIC, a community arts company. We have recently secured funding from Heritage Lottery allowing me to link my work to a life long interest in railways and Andy York has allowed me to start thread on RM Web about the project. Our press release reads as follows:

"Portland Rocks, previously known for its music and art workshops, has secured funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund for an exciting project collecting the memories of those who knew and used the railway line from Weymouth to Easton, Portland; a social rather than technical history of the line.

Having lived on Portland in Dorset for the last thirteen years, Director Martyn Mullender said:” I have become increasingly fascinated by the railway that ran from Weymouth along Chesil Beach and then climbed from sea level to around 285 feet above. It then followed a circuitous route around the cliffs to arrive at Easton.”

As many will know, the railway to Easton closed to passengers in 1952 and finally to all traffic in 1965, over 50 years ago.

Martyn remarked: “The line was unique in many ways: the traffic it was built for, the manner of its working, the challenges of getting the line built and the protracted amount of time this took. There will still be some residents and former residents with memories of the line that form a vital link to its history, which have not been recorded. Using audio visuals and the Internet, we plan to record as many memories as possible, making them available to the public for research or even genealogical purposes. “