ESU Loksound V4.0 MICRO - Will it Fit?

SDJR7F88

Hi all

I'm very new to the world of DCC, and I want to start fitting some of my locos.

Two of the locos I would like to start off with is my Hornby 72XX and Bachmann 'Jinty'. Being tank engines, there's naturally a lot less space to put a decoder and speaker in. I've come across a few posts from people who have fitted sound to these models, using the space left inside the boiler, which would be perfect for me (don't think I'm quite ready to start hacking models about yet).

I've also been looking at ESU Loksound V4.0 MICRO Decorders & Speakers and was wondering if they would fit this said space? I've been look at the ones that come pre-programmed with SWD Sound. I've yet to see one in the flesh, so don't quite know the side of them, so would be a great help if anyone knows if they would fit these models.

On a slightly different topic, can you adjust the chuff rate on decoders? I've yet to do this, but understand it's possible. Again any infomation would be much 

appreciated. 

Callum

Edited by SDJR7F88

• RMweb Premium

Callum

Have you a specific reason for your liking of Loksound decoders? I wouldn't rule out Zimo decoders as they may be a better option if space is tight or a better option cost wise or their sound files could be better - there are several sound file producers for both Loksound and Zimo (and other) decoders.

Yes, you can alter the chuff rate.

Both the Zimo and Loksound decoder manuals are readily available on line to download. These manuals will certainly be of use if you want to experiment with settings and the decoder retailer and/or their sound guy are usually very helpful when it comes down to the specifics (as are a number of people on RMweb).

Hope that helps.

P.S. I am nothing other than a customer of (a few) decoder retailers. I have hardly scratched the surface of what can be done with the decoders.

Callum