BRIO - something completely different!

Malton Seadog

Hi all,

I hope this is permitted in this forum! I'm currently building a small Brio set for my 2 year old's birthday, and I'm infuriating myself by changing track plans every few hours!

Many people have said "don't stick it down", but he has a huge box of track as well as this board. I wanted this board to be something a bit more permanent to go alongside the loose, different-every-time spare track.

So - I have added a couple of images, and would appreciate any comments as to how to improve either ideas, or even draw up a fresh plan if you're really, really bored.

I'm an amateur modeller myself, and I normally go for the "less is more" approach, but this is for a 2-year old. As such, I'd like as many routes/loops/bridges etc. as possible to keep him entertained. I'd also like a small open space (visible in both designs) to add in some small roads and small Brio buildings/trees that I have. 

Many thanks - and mods: apologies if this is not permitted on this forum.

post-8856-0-82788300-1522266408_thumb.jpg

post-8856-0-75560500-1522266526_thumb.jpg

Edited by Malton Seadog
  • Like 7

Oooooh! That looks fun! Didn't know they did a turntable either. I think the second is better as it has lots of loops for interest - but - it seems it's mostly uni-directional. For example, if you leave the engine shed and follow any of the routes you cannot get back to it without reversing, whereas the first one has two reverse loops so can get back to where you came from in the opposite direction - but there again he's only two!

Good luck and have fun :) .

Philip

Don't stick it down whatever you do!

Your 2 year old will rapidly start coming up with track arrangements of his own. They will be completely different to your ideas, but they will be his own work and will engage him at least as much as running trains.

Best wishes

Eric   

• Like 4
  • Agree 1