Sheerness Branchline.

Paul_C

I'm hoping to build a layout based on the Sheerness branch line as it was in 1959/60 when it transitioned from steam to electric. I will have to apply rule one to a few areas but I'm hoping to be as accurate as space will allow. It has been suggested that I will not have a hope of getting all five stations onto my baseboard given the space that I am working with but I'm determined to exhaust all possibilities.

My baseboard area measures 18'  x  11 ' and is 3' 6" wide all the way round. Any suggestions would be most welcomed, despite having started this project some nine years ago this is my first attempt at building a layout (still haven't started track laying) and I regard myself as a novice.

Paul. 

post-29343-0-13291700-1531678729_thumb.jpg

• RMweb Gold

What scale are you using? N/2mm would give you a much better scope.

Your era allows for the last knockings of steam in North Kent, but only just.

How do you propose to model the Swale Bridge, gateway to Sheppey? I think the new bridge was built as part of the electrification works.

The topography is fairly flat, so a double deck arrangement round the room might seem wrong, although it would allow you to double your length of run.

How do you propose to model the Swale Bridge, gateway to Sheppey? I think the new bridge was built as part of the electrification works.

The topography is fairly flat, so a double deck arrangement round the room might seem wrong, although it would allow you to double your length of run.

Hi Ian,

I'm working in 00 scale. I fully appreciate the suggestion of N scale but that's just not for me unfortunately. This is where I'm cheating a little, I know the electrics came into being in May '59 but I'm doing an overlap allowing both eras to run side by side. I believe this did happen for real albeit only for a short period while they type trained crews.