Somewhere in Shropshire

post-4969-0-56960200-1537115248_thumb.jpeg

Here we go then. A new project. Space and time issues mean that a shelf project is the way forward and so, inspired by the Lilleshall system that was so close to where I live, and the excellent Juniper Hill (a Northamptonshire-based ironstone micro) here is those initial baby steps.

The baseboard is an 80cm by 23cm floating shelf from the orange DIY shop. It's a rather fetching shade of blue, close to matching the colour scheme in my office, and I've bought Daler board of a similar shade to create a fascia.

As I'm a kit builder, rather than a layout builder, I really enjoy building wagon kits. Therefore I've decided to head down the inglenook route (a 3-2-2 variety) using one point and a fiddle stick.

So far, apart from the board and the point, everything has been made from bits I'd got lying around, a Wills goods store for one, with other builds scratch built from left overs.

I've got a Barclay, weathered expertly by Grimy Times, whilst a blue Peckett is on order to join the fleet too.

I've got a few unresolved issues currently. Firstly, the name. It's based around the Newport/Lilleshall area of Shropshire so I might look what street names jump out. Secondly, as Rocks by Rails is something of an inspiration, I'm debating whether it should be a preserved line along similar, ahem, lines? Or whether it should be set back in the day. I'm leaning towards present day Heritage personally, with a small platform in front of the good store, allowing brake van rides

So, that's it so far. Lots to do. Lots to decide. And, hopefully, lots of fun ahead, too.

• Like 10

2F94C694-F9EE-4CB0-A269-84647C601D08.jpeg

Here we go then. A new project. Space and time issues mean that a shelf project is the way forward and so, inspired by the Lilleshall system that was so close to where I live, and the excellent Juniper Hill (a Northamptonshire-based ironstone micro) here is those initial baby steps.