Actual Track Gauge

Art Dent

Hello folks,

As mentioned in previous posts in this forum, I am new to O-gauge - so have a few 'noob' questions.

Trying to establish the scale we are working to here in order to plan the correct 'gap' between rails (the 'Six Foot').

I had assumed 1:43 however a quick google reveals that there are several different "standards" for O-gauge!

For example, the track gauge for normal standard gauge track seems to be anywhere between 30mm (1:48), 1.25in/31.75mm (1:45.2), 32mm (1:44.8), 32.96mm (7mm:1ft) and 33mm (1:43.5) - these last two being virtually identical.

So, what scale are we working to here in the UK - I'm guessing 7mm:1ft or 1:43.5 - but that's a guess.

Apologies for the 'noob' question.

Art

Edited by Art Dent

British o gauge is a scale of 1/43.5 or 7mm/ft. With a gauge of 32mm, some use 31.5mm to avoid wheel drop. Scale 7 is still 1/43.5 or 7mm/foot. But with a gauge of 33mm.

You have to avoid getting scale and gauge mixed up. Unfortunately the likes of the RTR manufacturers have been miss leading the public for years.

Indeed. Peter is correct, and as Tender says, the flangeways that go with 31.5 gauge are 1.5mm to avoid wheeldrop. This is better looking, which is a bonus.

S7 is “true scale”, or at least, can be, in principle, it allows models to be built with dead scale flanges, and clearances, and avoids some compromises in modelling such as different frame widths above and below the footplate, and adjusted wheel centre distances to allow for oversize flanges. It does however require compromise in curve radii, as large locos require scale curves, and scale curves are quite large.