Box to Box (formerly Long Rock)

Revolution Mike B

• RMweb Gold

Most people know me from 4mm, but my background is from the world of N Gauge, and there's still a cupboard full of HSTs and other N Gauge nonsense kicking around in the model room just waiting to be used. So as if I haven't got enough plates spinning, myself and my long suffering modelling sidekick Dave, decided we want to build a ridiculously stupid 2mm exhibition layout and after some input from Paul Churchill, we hit upon the idea of building Long Rock Depot. just before the IETs started arriving. After a quick Google search. it transpires that the layout would need to be 46 feet long, by 2 feet wide, at which point most people would shrink it right down...............oh no, not us....we're going to build the whole 46 feet! We're not stopping there either.........nope, we're also including a provision to take the line on to Penzance with a total length of 65 feet!  :O  :O

The track plan is simple....it's on Google Earth  :laugh:  What isn't quite so simple is the choice of track! In an ideal world, we'd use Finetrax as it's a good alternative to Easitrac, but....no FB points! My soldering skills aren't up to the standard required so neither myself, or Dave can build our own, so as a last resort, we may have to use the dreaded Peco Code 55 track.

Due to other projects and time constraints, it's unlikely we'll start building anything until the Christmas break, but by starting a thread, it'll will spur us on to actually see the project through. Meanwhile, if anyone's got a very large Gazebo, we may need it for TINGS  :laugh:  :laugh:  :laugh:

Edited by scoobyra
  • Like 7