Building a 7mm JLTRT CCT

Hi RMweb folks!

I recently decided to take the plunge and have a bash at a Just Like The Real Thing kit; I was browsing their website and saw that they had their 4-wheel CCT on special offer. I have always liked NPCCS, so parted company with some money to have one. Inspired by fellow RMwebber and good friend Boris, I thought it a good idea to post about it here. It should be an interesting build, and features several techniques and materials I have not worked with before, mainly the resin parts ( I should point out that I am a mid-grade builder, with several kits under my belt, mainly Slaters, Parkside Dundas and Connoisseur wagon kits). Anyway, with the wheels and paint on order, it was time to get stuck in...

On unwrapping the kit, I was presented with several bubble-wrapped parcels, each which was contained the resin parts wrapped in tissue paper. These are shown after a thorough degrease and a minimum of cleaning off of flash and molding pips:

post-11803-0-46830100-1303117433_thumb.jpg

Next to be opened was the two bags of cast parts: one of white metal, and one brass. All very tidy with a minimum of flash.

post-11803-0-37079300-1303117509_thumb.jpg

This was nice: A photographic checklist detailing all the kit parts. I ran thorough it to make sure everything was present and correct; unfortunately there was one casting missing, but I fired off a quick email to JLTRT at the weekend and expect a reply shortly. The instructions are also nicely presented, with clear photographs of all the steps.

post-11803-0-03942500-1303117573_thumb.jpg

Preparation of the roof began with drilling out of the pre-molded holes in the roof to accept the vents. The way the kit is designed makes these tasks very simple.

post-11803-0-18783200-1303117691_thumb.jpg

Adding roof vents. JLTRT lists a variety of glues, and good old Roket is one of them. The castings as received are just next to the lid, the unneeded casting tails are discarded just below.