OO Gauge Modern Image Terminus Plan

QRModeller

Hi all.

This is a plan I've been working on for a few years now and it's going to be my first big layout.

post-11907-0-01870400-1307332987_thumb.jpg

The dimensions of the scenic section (what is shown in the plan) are 7000mm x 800mm with a fiddle yard around the back of the layout. The station will be long enough to hold 7+2 HST formations and 7 coach loco hauled trains. There will be a loco refuelling and stabling area for passenger locos and one and two car DMUs. The siding with run-around loop will hold short freigh trains while the loco is refuelling. Also, there will be a small oil pumping facility at the end of one of the refuelling siding headshunts so the refuelling depot doesn't run out of the stuff and will also provide some shunting. Here's the part where I need help. I would really like to include an inspection pit in the loco stabling sidings (circled in image below) but I don't know if it would be a separate siding or if it could be placed in one of the stabling roads. The area available for this part of the yard is about 1080mm long and 200mm at its widest (from the edge of the board to the track above the upper stabling road) and the length of the whole board (1300mm) is marked out by the two black lines. Help with this would be greatly appreciated.

post-11907-0-67573500-1307334087_thumb.jpg

One final thing, this project will probably not materialise for another few years but watch this space for when it does. Actually, you'd have to be watching the Layout Topics sub-forum because that's where it will probably be moved to!!

Matt.

• RMweb Premium

The layout looks more steam age than modern image. Loosing one or both the crossovers on the main platform would help.

• RMweb Gold

Inspection pits now tend to be inside the shed, often on all roads, so they can put lights, railings and hazard marking all around and prevent people falling in.