Dapol Hall

BECMAYE

Dapol Members model Mottram Hall arrived today. Very nice model, wheels not that made and the colour difference between the drivers and ponies is not that noticeable, Of course when running as intended it is not noticeable. I am very happy with my Hall, some left so I would recommend if you want Mottram in GWR on tender join the club and get one.

I'm no expert but the photo in the link you posted seems to show the driving wheels with a "sheen" on them that looks very similar to the effect Dapol have recreated.

Yes, to some extent I'd agree. The wheels in that pic certainly don't look as black as the smoke box and cylinders; they've got a grey tinge to them by being not absolutely deep/pitch black, although perhaps the Dapol version is lighter still. Still at least they're not fat with oversized flanges and chromium shiny. ;)

G.

• 2 weeks later...

Just received my Mottram Hall and can only convey my highest praises to Dapol.

Looks fantastic, runs even better... Can a modeller ask for much more? I also agree with Tricky, the wheels are pretty good, still not exactly right in my opinion, but much better than the Britannia.

Congratulations Dapol on a fantastic model, do you fancy doing some more GWR 4-6-0s? A Castle to the same standards as the Hall and Ixion's Manor would really go down a treat!

Ross

Just been comparing Mottram Hall to Cookham Manor - not a lot between them - they are both superb (still not sure about the motion on Cookham though...) - but what a difference to the sort of thing the market took for granted a few years ago - I put Farish's Raveningham Hall next to Mottram - oh dear, oh dear.

Luckily we still have Ixion's Mogul to come (any news on that, anyone? They seem to have gone off to play with the big boys...) plus the 2-8-0 from Dapol - again, all's gone quiet on that front.