Throw a Six to Start

Using an RP beureau (sp?) for my day job as a design engineer I thought it was a little way off as a viable model and print option for model making. It was Atso's pigeon van that made me think again and have a go.

We have Pro\Engineer at work and so I have been staying an extra half hour or so after work to knock up the model you see pictured. It is a GWR passenger train cattle box to diagram W7 and will have a separate chassis constructed from assorted etched parts on my workbench to complete. I have received an email from Shapeways to say that it is now in production so it should be along soon. Handles and lamp tops also need adding once it it is printed.

post-8031-0-67756100-1317729721.jpg

It is to 1:152 (2mm) and I had to put four in the printer to meet the minimum order requirement. So if they do turn out all right then there will be a couple of these bodies spare.

Looks good, I have been planning to do a kit of a beatle in N Gauge.

So interesting that you have done one.

Thank you. It's not quite N gauge and might look fractionally small (because it is) against other N gauge stock. I have no plans to do an etched chassis to accomany it at this time it is just something that I thought would be suitable for the process, being difficult or time consuming to produce from scratch or etch. I'm particularly looking forward to lettering it because the tare, load, and number were on the sliding upper ventilator shutters so they look quite odd!

Hi Rich, nice work and I am assuming you are using Solidworks? I am struggling still with concept of solid modelling/shelling or surface having no former knowledge of CAD the learning curve is proving somewhat steep however I try a little bit each day.

Look forward to seeing results of you RP'ing.

Tom

• RMweb Premium

Be interesting to see how this turns out. Did you consider doing the under frame in the same way? If you don't mind me asking what sort of price are these to get printed?