Hornby APT-P and assorted others

winky84

Hello All,

I'm new to RMWeb and have only recently reintroduced myself to the world of railway modelling after a 10 year break and i just thought i'd pop a little thread up about some of my collection and some of the projects i've got on the go and am also considering.

I got the bug again when i was in my local model shop in hereford, when i bumped into an old friend from school who asked if i was still "into my trains" as she put it because she had recently split up with her fella and was looking to shift his collection of british OO.

She sold me a tender driven Flying Scotsman with 3 Gresley Teaks and an EWS class 92 with 12 EWS LWB wagons at a price not to be refused and it all went downhill from there...

Some of the trains i had from my previous days include an APT-P with another power car, which is my pride and joy, a couple of scale length Hornby virgin mk3's, a virgin DVT and various other 'bits' of locos and coaches that were not fully appreciated by my 14-year-old-self, as i had not worked hard to earn the money to pay for them myself!

I'm now going through that stage that all blokes do of living out the various ideas and dreams i had when i was was younger, only now i have the time, knowledge and most importantly THE MONEY to see them through!

I have been modifying and renovating my APT so now i have 1 power car with 2 motor bogies that have both got all new brushes, springs and traction tyres. the twin motor bogie set up seems to work extremely well, offering noticeably better tractive power, improved conductivity and much better slow speed operation. Cosmetically, The pantograph is present and i have replaced the plastic bus bars which were all damaged with thin copper wire glued in place, which gives a pleasing result.