First Attempt at Handbuilt Track - A complete novice’s experience.

tender

I was starting on a layout for a small room and was finding the fixed geometry of Peco etc too restricting, so I decided the time was right to have a go at handbuilt track work.

I decided that 00-SF would suit my needs as I really didn't want to go the route of modifying all my RTR stock for EM. I purchased a set of 00-SF gauges from Brian Tully, some rail/PCB from C&L, and now have a copy Templot TDV thanks to Martin Wynne. I've picked up a lot of info/tips in various threads here and on the Templot forum.

At the risk of making a right pigs ear of it, the following is an account of how I’m getting on.

Please be gentle with your comments.

First step was to obtain a copy of Templot. Martin Wynne was a great help here, after registering on the Templot forum Martin added me to the TDV group and I was able to download a copy and register it to my PC.

Templot can look a bit daunting at first, but there are some great tutorial videos on the website and the forum members are quick to show you the way should you get stuck. I only need a simple template to see if I can build a working turnout before embarking on anything more complex. Templot loads with curved turnout template with an imaginary T55 gauge. It was an easy process to set the gauge to 00-SF, convert the curved turnout to a straight turnout, extend the lead in and overall length and add a short straight length of track to the turnout side. After calibrating my printer, the template was printed out (on 3 sheets of A4 paper) and stuck down to a piece of 6mm plate glass (to give a flat working surface) with double sided tape.

post-11105-0-88560200-1324224403.jpg