programming Lenz DCC in locos

Peter F

Hi all

I am new to DCC.

I have a Lenz LZV100 with LH100 controller.  I have fitted Lenz chips to the NEM sockets in 4 recent ROCO HO dc locos (SBB AE6/6, SBB Re6/6, SBB Be6/8; BLS Ae4/4).  I have soldered in Lenz chips to a very 2nd-hand Roco SBB Ee3/3, an older HAG SBB Re4/4, a Fleischmann SBB Ae3/6 II, and a Lima SBB RBe 4/4. All seem to be working, although the Lima with its old "Hornby-style" plastic motor bogie is still a bit rough.

Problems / Questions

(1) I have removed the motor capacitors from the older locos whose chips I have soldered in, but not from the newer ones with the NEM 8-pin sockets. Should I try to locate and remove these capacitors too?

(2) In one of the four newer "socketed" locos (the Roco SBB Ae 6/6) the head and tail lights are extremely dim compared to all the other locos. Any suggestions for a cure? (the bulbs are in the roof, with light-guides to the ends).

(3) The Lenz instructions refer to changing the CVs to suit "different types of motors". It apparently has preset programming for 5 different motor types. I am entirely ignorant of what this means. (By the way, in my HAG loco, with its very powerful motor, I am finding a big delay in its response to "slow down" instructions - ?).

Any helpful suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Peter

• RMweb Gold

(1) My philosophy here is to only remove the capacitors if there's a problem.  If the loco performs perfectly with the capacitors in, I'd leave them alone.  I suspect you invalidate the warranty by taking them out, and if you wanted to sell the locos on you wouldn't be able to advertise them as usable on DC.

(2) Are the lights dim on DC too? My Heljan class 33 has very dim lights - but that's how it's designed.