Information on US Freight Cars

DanielB

Evening everyone, :)

I'm wondering if any websites exist regarding information - build details, identification of types, what goods were carried etc - on US freight cars, similar to how http://www.ltsv.com/w_home.php is useful for UK rolling stock?

I'm a bit of a newbie to US modelling and so would like to overcome my ignorance on the prototype. :)

I've had a scoot around on Google but didn't find anything similar, so any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks,

Dan

Dan,

Here's some things to get you started.

Old stuff - Steam Era Freight Cars

http://steamerafreightcars.com/index.html

TONS of articles on freight cars available for FREE on TrainLife.  They appear to have most of all issues of Railmodel Journal, Model RailroaDING, and Prototype Modeler.  If you're looking for modern freight car stuff (to me that is 70's and 80's because I pretty much stop at 1988), pay particular attention to Jim Eager's articles.  Railmodel Journal featured his stuff and many other knowledgeable authors over the years.  I have a complete set of Railmodel Journal from issue 1 to the final issue in my personal collection.  I really miss getting that magazine each month.

http://www.trainlife.com/magazines/model-train-magazine-index

There are also a number of very useful but possibly overwhelming Yahoo Groups.  For modern freight cars, check out 'Modern Freight Car List'.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/MFCL/

Steam Era Freight Cars has their own list:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/STMFC/

Then there's the Baby Boomer Freight Car List that overlaps the other two.  Not near as busy but it is worth joining if you're going to join the other two.  

http://finance.groups.yahoo.com/group/bbfcl/