Gaugemaster/Seep point motors. Reliability issues?

RTJ

The PM1 switch advertising blurb says that they PM1 CAN be used to control frog polarity. The PDF sheet that comes with it makes no mention of it and my local model railway shop (no name), says that the switch is only there to control signals.

Has anyone any experience of these motors and switches - please?

Also, which power supply is best/most cost effective? Again, I see in the blurb that the 24v M3 at ??45 is mentioned; is there a cheaper alternative that people can recommend (e.g. from Maplins?) I only have a small no of points at present and can't think that I'll ever operate more than 2-3 at the same time. i do have an old H&M duette that, I think, has a 16v AC output. Would this be OK (I know - try it - but I haven't bought the point motors yet!)

Thanks again,

BW

Richard

I have no experience of Seep point motors so I am just repeating the info I have from others.

I am pretty sure that the PM1s can be used to switch frog polarity. Yes the 16v AC output should be OK for switching them. Standard advice is to add a CDU as well. These are pretty cheap to get and you only need 1 (no matter how many points you have). CDUs provide an extra kick to ensure positive switching, they also cut the current out afterwards to ensure there is no risk of burning out the solenoids.

As to how good they are, that is a subjective question. People I have spoken to regard them as comparable in quality to Peco point motors but better value since they incorporate the switch. If quality is your prime concern maybe something like Tortoise would be better. If value for money is your goal then Seep will probably be OK. If ease of connecting to the points is your prime concern then Peco have an edge (provided you are attaching peco motors to peco points).

Hope this helps.

Hi Richard