Card Kits & Card Modelling Using Cereal Packets

Hi All,

I just wanted to drop by and introduce myself and some of the buildings I’ve been developing recently. Andy York said I should start up a thread in this section to showcase some of my creations, so here I am! :)

A friend and I have been developing card kits for a few years now which have mostly been aimed at the beginner or newcomer to the hobby, but I recently began experimenting with recycling card from cereal packets and other food packaging. This enables us to keep build costs to an absolute minimum and it also means that we can get crisper, more detailed finishes to the textured surfaces along with the added bonus of no cut card edges being visible when the buildings are complete.

We’ve done a lot of experimentation with recycled card and have developed the buildings to take into account a degree of variation in the card thickness, as not everyone buys the same cereal of course, and still give excellent results when the models are complete.

One of the first buildings I created using the cereal packet idea is the Red River Inn, in Gwithian, Cornwall. The landlady, Louisa was amazed that anyone would want to make a model of her pub! And quite a few of them have now made their way back home to layouts owned by her regulars!

med_gallery_20808_3103_4000.jpg

We’ve also been using laminated stacks of card to create low relief buildings too. These latest low relief designs have been developed with a friends new exhibition layout in mind, and are ultra-low relief as space up against the backscene is extremely limited. These kits vary from 6mm to 9mm deep and are constructed from simple stacked card layers, rather than using a single layer of thick card. This acts a little like the layers in plywood, giving an extremely sturdy and rigid model, which should stand the tests of time on the exhibition circuit (all being well).

Here's a few of the low relief buildings we've been working on...