If you're new to the forum this is an ideal place to introduce yourself.

Introducing LUMSDONIA

TimberSurf

I am an Electrical Engineer with a large house and a departed family, heading toward my twilight years, I am re-invoking my long lost hobbies of electronics and model railways. I built my first layout in the 70’s in a shed in the garden, a 6ft x 4ft effort that started the ball rolling while i was at school. The second incarnation was an end to end affair some 15ft long by 18ins wide in my friends loft. The third was a rehash of the seconds boards in my siblings house. There was then a pause for the fairer sex, marriage and a family. Next came the resurgence in the form of a new layout at my current abode, with some influence that it was for “the little ones”, a 16ft long by 30in wide board was erected. The little ones became big, and I was persuaded to relinquish the spare room for teenager “personal space”. Eventually they wanted “personal space” and moved out! The room once again became the train room and soon a new 10ft 6in by 4ft layout was constructed, on the premise it was for the “little one”, a later addition!

That was 8 years ago!

Work away from home has given me little time to indulge my hobbies at home, but has been a means of giving spare time to buy huge quantities of stock and materials to create a monster layout!

Recent events have allowed me time to design phase 2 and I have started documenting it in my website

www.lumsdonia.co.uk

Happy to field any questions comments good or bad.

Edited by TimberSurf

• RMweb Gold

Hello Timbersurf and welcome,

That's quite some railway you are building there. (Quite a nice web site too.)

I know you have some experience in your previous layouts and you are making good progress but I worry, just a bit, about how much maintenance/access you will need to keep it all running.

Anyway, enjoy your stay in RMweb land and don't forget to post piccies here too - we like them.

Kev.