Wiring Seep PM 1 motors with a DPDT switch and LED's

Graham Walters

I'm trying to wire up a DPDT switch to operate seep PM1 point motors, with indicator led's in the circuit.

Problem is I can't get it to work at all

Here is a diagram of where I've got to

point%20motor%20wiring_zpsmt1c9dnv.png

The LED's are soldered long legs together,  I'm not sure if there is a right or wrong way of routing the resistor, even so the LED's are not illuminating, and the motor isn't switching.

Graham,

To qualify what I am about to say I want you to know I am not an expert on circuits and have learnt a lot about this from Brian Lamberts very useful site. Take a look here :- http://www.brian-lambert.co.uk/Electrical.html#Motor

Firstly you appear to need a short burst current running in one or other of A or B for the SEEP motor. You should therefore have a momentary (or sprung to centre off) switch for the motors.

Secondly you appear to need current running in one or other of A or B for the LEDs to light but this conflicts with the motor's temporary current need. Therefore the basic constant current requirement to light one or other LED suggests you should have a parallel circuit probably switched using a reed switch or similar and not the DPDT. I have purchased commercial kits to make these that included their own CDU and are transistor controlled.

Somebody else will hopefully provide you with a more comprehensive answer of how to get the solution you want in the easiest way.

Matthew

Graham,

To qualify what I am about to say I want you to know I am not an expert on circuits and have learnt a lot about this from Brian Lamberts very useful site. Take a look here :- http://www.brian-lambert.co.uk/Electrical.html#Motor

Firstly you appear to need a short burst current running in one or other of A or B for the SEEP motor. You should therefore have a momentary (or sprung to centre off) switch for the motors.