First steps in ply and rivet track building

I thought I would share my first steps in building P4 track, I built a straight pannel which will be used when testing turnouts, as it is my first attempt to build with ply sleepers and rivets

post-1131-046557700 1287261753_thumb.jpg

Sleepers attached to a template, when building in anger I will stain the sleepers first. At the top of the picture you can see the tin I sleepers I obtained. There are both 9' and 8'6" sleepers mixed up.

post-1131-065267500 1287261902_thumb.jpg

The first rail has been attached to the sleepers using solder paint

post-1131-094713600 1287261964_thumb.jpg

Second rail attached (with solder paint)using gauges. Some good lessons have been learnt.

I re-used some old rail, fine for a test piece but not for a model. I used repositionalable spray mount to stick the sleepers to the plan, the sleepers moved. But was it the spray not strong enough or the rivets holding the sleepers above the paper/glue.

Some rivets seem to be higher than others, but that might be a trick on the eye. I must learn to be more carefull with the soldering iron as there are a few burn marks on some sleepers. Happy with 1st try though.

My 1st P4 turnout will have copperclad sleepers. I am happy using this method of building and for the 1st effort in these tollerances I can consentrate on the gaugeing of the rails.

Just built my 1st P4 turnout in copperclad as planned.

post-1131-097138700 1287340598_thumb.jpg

As well as sticking the template to the building board, I stuck another template of the crossing and built a V jig. This photo has a 1 in 6 jig on it, when I offered the V to the plan I realised I was making an A5. So a quick rebuild was done

post-1131-005700100 1287340782_thumb.jpg

Rather than make the wing and switch rail in 1 piece I built them seperatly and cut a notch in the rear of the bend with a needle file, this gave a nice sharp bend

post-1131-039000000 1287340888_thumb.jpg