Isle of Wight freight

JZ

Finding photo's of freight trains on the Isle of Wight seem to be a rare thing, especially in BR days. Of the ones I can find in the books I have, there is a noticeable lack of vans. There is possibly one in a photo of Ventnor, but this may be a brake. And the only other van I can see is a PMV(?) at Newport. Of what I can see most, if not all, seems to be coal traffic in 5 and 7 plank wagons. Would I be right in assuming that other goods would go by road to save transhipment, with small parcels handled by the passenger brake vans?

I'm no expert, but I do know that the main traffic inward was coal, carried in both five and seven plank wagons. There was also a 10T van, which was attached to passenger trains! And must have been fully-fitted, for carrying fish. I have a feeling that the latter is preserved (the van, not the fish) at IoWSR. It was, like some other vans on the island, an ex-LBSCR vehicle.

Kevin

• Like 1

An old Pamlin Prints photo in my collection, dated 1953, shows a goods train headed by an E1, consisting of:

- two cattle wagons;

- a horse box;

- a further cattle wagon;

- about ten opens, mixed 5 and 7 plank, loaded with what looks like coal;

- brake van.

K

Thanks for the replies, all useful stuff. At the planning stage at the moment, but I am doing something loosely based on Ventnor, but sufficiently different to warrant another location, maybe Bonchurch or Niton Undercliff.

• Like 1

Jules

I didn't really "get properly into" the railways of IoW until two years ago, when we went on holiday there, and explored a bit more than I had before. There are stacks of books on the topic, but the ones I chose are two volumes by Ian Drummond, called "Southern Rails on the Isle of Wight", which provide a really thorough introduction. Highly recommended.