Streamline turnout question

Mr Bones

Sorry if this seems a daft question, but it’s driving me batty. It could be that I’m missing the obvious as I’m new to all this.

I’m using Scarm and at times AnyRail to work out a layout and initially used the Peco settrack turnouts (from what I gather Peco points are supposed to be better). Everything was fine till I then started changing them to Peco Streamline turnouts so they were all Electrofrog points.

I fully understand that they are longer and I gather the angle of the turn is less severe, but where I am struggling is with trying to find the right curve to get the tracks after the turnout to run parallel.

I’ve tried various combinations of short straights and curves and just can’t seem do it and have now run out of curves to try.

Please, please, please, put me out of my misery! 

the Peco OO streamline points have an angle of 12 degrees. The Setrack OO ones are 22.5 degrees. The Setrack have a parallel track to track centre on 67mm, but the Streamline ones work out at 50mm.

Also I would question why you want Electrofrog points when you have started design with Setrack. Quality of modern models reduces need for Electrofrog, and can make wiring more complex.

If you contact Peco they can let you have copies of the geometry of settrack and streamline but, as already stated, they are not compatible. As also stated, it is possible to mix them ( foor example I prefer to use settrack for sharp curves), but you will need to be aware of what you are doing.

Ed

• RMweb Gold

I’ve tried various combinations of short straights and curves and just can’t seem do it and have now run out of curves to try.

Please, please, please, put me out of my misery!