• RMweb Gold

I'd been having thoughts about 7mm for a while but as soon as I seen the Dapol 08 my mind was made up, so much so that rather than this be a side project along side 4mm projects I decided to sell all my 4mm locos etc to fund the jump up.

The thought of track building and weathering locos in O gauge appeals so much so it just felt right.

So with the decision made a blue 08 was soon followed by a blue 40 and there's a 'green gronk' on pre-order.

Over the last couple of weeks I've been racking my brains trying to think of a suitable plan for a layout, it had to be a stabling/fuelling point as space is tight. Like my other OO an EM projects I'll have to make the layout in sections until time permits a suitable man cave but I can live with that.

Ideas thrown into the hat where Buxton (possibly to long), a version of Camden Street (St Pancras) but situated just outside Liverpool Exchange, various fictional ideas (I'm not very good at that) and Kings Cross stabling point, all would be based mid 60's with green and blue.

Each ideas had its pros an cons and after a couple of sleepless nights and many hours searching through old photos on Flickr one place seemed to be jumping out. Last night though a friend of mine sent me a templot of KX and the whole area is doable in 18'x3.5' which in 7mm isn't bad, it's a small compact stabling point with interesting shunting possibilities.

So with my mind more or less made up I thought it was about time I started a thread mostly to grab as much information as possible.

I've never been to Kings X and being a northerner and basing all my previous layouts in the Liverpool area I do feel a bit out of my comfort zone, but it's crying out to be modelled albeit with a few tweaks here and there to make things fit with all track being hand built to 0-MF standards.