colin penfold

• RMweb Gold

Welcome to my new 0 Gauge project – “The Light”

In a small town somewhere in England, the residents decided that the opportunity offered by the light railways act of 1896 should not pass them by. With the aid of the great Colonel Holman F Stephens they established the headquarters of a new railway which became affectionately known as “the light.” It ran from a junction with the main line to two villages whose farming communities provided much of the trade for their small town. They established their loco and carriage facilities and also provided a private siding for the business of one of their major investors.

Having paused my 4mm scale layout based on the DNSR I have been dabbling for a couple of months now with the possibility of a small 0 gauge layout. I need to scratch some itches - 0 gauge, DCC sound and a light railway prototype. I decided to try a wagon kit, paint some figures and purchase a couple of ready to run items for evaluation purposes. I also decided that there was no excuse in the larger scale for not having a go at building some points! For anyone who looked at my layout planning case study, the thought processes about the new layout repeat the method used there, following the guidance in Iain  Rice’s "Layout Design" published by Haynes. I will disclose up front that I have chosen to base the track plan on Iain’s “Leintwardine” design.

A visit to Bressingham finally tipped me over the edge

post-12721-0-22255700-1514476187_thumb.jpg

Philosophy, Standards, Scales and Terminology

The layout is going to be 32mm gauge using C&L flexitrack and hand made points. I am currently evaluating components from Marcway, C&L and Peco Individulay. I have completed an A4 turnout using a C&L kit 

Wheel standards will be to the equivalent of modern RTR, as will detail standards. Where I build kits, I will aim to meet the same standard of finish so that everything mixes comfortably.

Site