Haddenham (Bucks) GW&GC Jt

• RMweb Gold

I am studying Haddenham as a suitable modelling project. Not perhaps the most interesting station in the world, but quite compact for a mainline station. I have a few questions.

It has a rather simpler layout, fewer single slips and no double slips, than most stations on the GW&GC Joint. That makes me wonder about the operation of freight trains. Clearly easy to shunt a down freight train, but, with no crossover at the London end, running round the train to shunt would involve a wrong direction move on the Up Main. There appears to be (from SRS diagram) a shunt signal to allow this move but would it be regularly used? A lot of minor stations were only shunted by trains in the one direction. Clearly, the answer would probably be found in WTTs.

Similarly, from the WTT, did the Down pick up goods trains run to Woodford Halse or Banbury? Or both?

And where would the Up pick up goods have run to?

Finally, a discrepancy between Potts RH Clarke and the SRS about a catch point between the goods yard single slip and the Up Platform loop. Can anyone help with a clear photo?

I am looking at c1960 for the most interesting variety of locos and rolling stock.

Edited by Joseph_Pestell

In the mornings, except on Sundays, a passenger train from Marylebone reversed at Hadenham, being allowed around 25 minutes to do so.  By the summer of 1961 dmus were in use.  Back in 1955 the formation was six non-corridor coaches with no first class.

Chris 

Not quite answering any questions but:

in the 1953 WTT I found

Woodford 'F' 7.55 am

Haddenham 9.18 - 9.30

Woodford 'K' 6.45 am

Haddenham 9.38-9.54

Banbury 8.00 am 'K'

Haddenham 10.05 - 10.30

to OOC

Couldnt see any down working though.

In 1949 

Banbury 7.15 am only went as far as Brill

But 

Neasdon 2.45am

Haddenham 7.32 - 8.08am

Woodford

The station closed in 1963