porkie

Milton Grove - N gauge 1985 - 2000 loosely based on the WCML

The idea behind Milton grove is very simular to my previous layout.

I wanted to create a layout with finer track details than the set track I use to use. So I opted to go finscale code 55 as I was unable to run my 08 shunters smoothley over the points on my old layout.

I have never used electrofrog turnouts before or slips so this a new challage for which I am kinda looking forward too in a scarey way.

The layout will have a 3 road TMD and a 2 road heavy repair shop. With a busy mainline running along side

I used anyrail to plan it all out and printed out a full scale plan. Witch made it alot easier to see how it will look and cutt all my track to the correct sizes.

I coloured the rails in on the plan to try and work out where to put feeds and breaks, Which I just cant workout at the moment.

Thanks for looking at my plan

Porkie

post-6906-127084701961_thumb.jpg

Edited by porkie
  • Like 2

Hi Porkie

Love the Track Plan.... Can't wait to see the Progress of the Layout come to life...

What is the actual size of the Layout...? and how many boards will it be built on, and will there be any chance of seeing it at an exhibition...?

Jamie

Thanks for your reply Jamie,

It will be built on two boards 4 x 2ft 8'' giving a total lenght of 8ft and a scenice area of 8 x 1ft 8''. And that leaves room for an 8 x 1ft fiddle yard

As for taking it to shows, I dont think my skills are that good yet. But it all depends on how it will look in the end

Whilst Im waiting for the boards to made..

Its been pointed out that where the mainline enters the depot over the slip and facing turnout is a bit odd.

Ive Had a play around using trailing points to make it look more realisic..

post-6906-127308422585_thumb.jpg

Then I had a crazy idea of turning it in to a 4 track mainline, so I can use the N brass catenary masts.

The only thing Im unsure of,