DCC Explained

VicZA

Hi All,

I am new to the hobby so learning as I go.

Reagrding DCC: is there a "stcky" somewhere that explains the concept? 

I amstruggling to understand the practical difefrence between locos that are sold as:

(a) DCC Ready

(b) DCC Fitted

© DCC Sound

Also, what is required in the way of wiring up and powering your tracks?

Thanks

Vic

• Like 1

Hi All,

I amstruggling to understand the practical difefrence between locos that are sold as:

(a) DCC Ready

(b) DCC Fitted

© DCC Sound

Thanks

Vic

(a) DCC Ready  -  Loco has a socket to fit a DCC chip, but does NOT have a chip, will run on analogue (DC) supply but NOT on a DCC supply

(b) DCC Fitted  -  Loco has a chip fitted and will run on a DCC supply. If the chip is suitable and set to do so it may run on DC.

© DCC Sound  -  As it says it has a loudspeaker inside and makes noises, steam, diesel, whistles, horns, etc usually one appropriate to the model.

Wiring up, well search through the threads on here there's lots on wiring. There's lots of views, but I and others have been converting a DC layout to DCC by the simple method of removing the DC supply, plugging in a DCC supply and switching all the sections on. DO NOT try to mix DC and DCC on the same layout!!!

John

Wiring up, well search through the threads on here there's lots on wiring. There's lots of views, but I and others have been converting a DC layout to DCC by the simple method of removing the DC supply, plugging in a DCC supply and switching all the sections on. DO NOT try to mix DC and DCC on the same layout !!

Phil:  IT IS VITAL if converting from an ANALOGUE (DC) layout that has used 'commercial' Power Feeders' to REMOVE the Radio Interference Suppression Capacitors fitted to them** - as these would appear as a short circuit to the (alternating current) DCC signal  !!!  [ just cut them out ! ]