Harolds Gate

Capitan Cripple

Hi Guys my Name is Ross and I wanted to document my layout dreams and share them with you guys!

I have been modelling since I was 6 years old and just finished the purchase of my house! This means its model railway time, but this time I will do it the way I wanted to when I was a child

I am currently building a large outbuilding for the project codenamed "Harolds Gate" I hope this to be finished by Feb.

I have been planning the layout for two years now and cant wait to get started, I already have a large collection of Locos and rolling stock!

The Plan:

Name - Harolds Gate - This is inspired by my late grandfathers name Harold as he was the reason I loved modelling.

Era - BR Sectorisation in the late 80s early 90's

Location - Based around Reading & Outer London near the ECM - I am from Reading and grew up there so I have many memories! I also took alot of inspiration from Everard Junction!

Stock - Diesel locomotives and DMUs of the period such as Class 50's, 47's ect...

Control - DCC ESU ECoS Control Station

Track - Peco code 75 and Bullhead

Track Plan - The layout is a large 12 Metre by 9 Metre and will be housed in a purpose-built builiding on my property. There is a large fiddle yard one end aswell as a large Station on one of the 12M sides (Inspired by Dean Parks Station)

post-35755-0-66808000-1545228912_thumb.jpg

Out Building - A large wooden structure fully insulated with velux windows.

10hnjm9.jpg

I really want you guys to help with opinions and knowledge as I have been blown away with how amazing the community is! I have always been a closet modeller and was heavily bullied at School because of my love for trains!

Edited by Capitan Cripple
  • Like 2

• RMweb Premium

Like it welcome along Captain! Oh looks like this is gonna be a good un. Oh for a railway room, I have to occupy the garage for a few hours at a time! Before my wife’s car has to return indoors.