Dave Bradwell J27

I bought this kit some time ago, and we decided that it would make a nice addition to the motive power available for South Pelaw. Of course now that Oxford Rail have announced an RTR J27 we will have other options. I have a Dave Bradwell Q6 to build at some point, and it will be interesting to compare with Hornby's version. No one else seems to have documented a build of this kit for EM gauge, so here we go ...

It's going to be 65871, which was a Sunderland engine that appeared at South Pelaw at least once in the 1950s, appears to have retained a Diagram 57 boiler with long smokebox to withdrawal, and had a 4-rail tender in the early 60s. If anyone has any further information or photos, I would be very grateful.

The instructions recommend starting with the tender. As with Dave's other kits the kit goes together very nicely and the springing leads to very slick running -- I am a veteran of 9 x Consett-Tyne dock iron ore wagons, a couple of single bolsters, and several hoppers and hopper chassis, but this is the first of his loco kits that I have built. All completed except for the brake gear.

post-7742-0-52683000-1548415746_thumb.jpg

post-7742-0-40800300-1548415771_thumb.jpg

The only problem I had with the tender was with the internal frames, which I initially fitted outside the tender tank. However this provide only just enough clearance for an EM wheelset and I was worried about the potential for shorts. However, they have holes to locate the rods on which the brake blocks hang, as well as supporting the ends of the axlebox springs, so couldn't be simply removed. Instead I cut them into three pieces, and relocated the middle section inside the water tank, using 0.45mm rods to make sure everything was nicely aligned.

post-7742-0-91368200-1548416104_thumb.jpg