I've decided to have a go at a 3d printed ex NER Y7. It will be in industrial guise as I gather the two that were preserved both worked in NCB service. 

I have had some experience at kitbashing, but no successful experience at locomotive building - so I'm hoping this project will be relatively simple and therefore boost my confidence. I'm following the instructions put together by the chap who drew up the 3d print (here https://brackmodels.weebly.com/lner-y7-in-4mm-scale.html)

Here's where I've got so far. IMG_20190217_171156263_HDR.jpg.c3c5af0b14dcdd049620ddf8b035c713.jpgIMG_20190217_171226109_HDR.jpg.885bab4930e2beaa65e560da81b2f756.jpg

I would appreciate any information on what livery the locos wore in industrial service, googling has produced few photos so far.

Jake 

• Like 6

I don't think either of the locos in industrial service ran as originally built. They were both modified in some way, not least of which was the shorter chimney.

Link to an image of another Y7 taken into industry; https://picturestocktonarchive.wordpress.com/2003/02/08/locomotives-at-stockton-gas-works-c1950/

• Agree 1

• RMweb Premium

Twelve of the class of 18 Y7s were sold into industrial service. Yeadon's register Vol 32 has details including B&W photos of all of them and could be bought cheaply from Book Law quite recently. It has all the Y classes except the Sentinels Y1 & Y3. Lots of detail modifications but some ran without major changes such as cab and chimney heights.  e.g. ord & Madison quarry near Middleton in Teesdale bought 898 out of service in 1929 and it ran as withdrawn but with the number on the tankside.

I have an 0 Gauge one to build. Good luck with yours!

• Informative/Useful 1

• RMweb Gold