Graham Farish 00 gauge 9410 -help wanted

cliffrocker

Newbie here so please be gentle !

I have acquired a non-runner 00 gauge Farish 9410 and cannot find any diagrams/service sheets anywhere. No Bachmann don't have any.

I am not sure if it is complete as motor floats around with a bed of Blu-Tank to hold it in place. The motor runs OK but will not engage the drive gear.

Any help with what it should look like would be much appreciated. Are any spares available anywhere?

Welome to RMweb! 

The motor should be bolted in place (no Blu-Tac!). I have never seen a service sheet. I don't think they ever existed.  I'll have to dig mine out to see the details, but IIRC the motor is held by two screws and pickup is from bronze strips which contact only the first two wheelsets.

Edited by Il Grifone

Hi Il Grifone and thanks for the welcome.

Pickup is from 2 interleaved bronze strips with a black plastic strip between them, with pickups on the front and the rear wheels - not the central unflanged driven wheel. It sounds from what you say as if the motor ( and pinion ? ) may not be correct as there seems to be no fixing screws, or holes, for the motor which is housed in a black plastic framework. The plastic gear wheel seems worn on one side as if the pinion has been wearing it away rather than engaging. Beginning to think this 94xx may end up populating the engine shed! Any pictures would more than welcome.

I'll have to see if I can find which boxes they're in. A worn gear does seem fatal, but parts do turn up from time to time. It would be worth restoring as mine run very well.

The model does have a few faults - bunker steps on the driver's side and that awful safety valve cover, but it is considerably better than Lima's effort.