Electrofrog Point Wiring for DCC - Is this correct

chuffinghell

• RMweb Gold

I'm a total novice when it comes to point wiring, in my youth I used insulfrog points for simplicity but now I'm much older and none the wiser I want to do things properly and use electrofrog

Have I understood the wiring correctly? (see 'rough' diagram below)

frog crossover.JPG

• RMweb Gold

So I don't have to worry too much when weathering the track where the blade would ordinarily require a clean contact as long as I keep the tops of the rails clean

Edited by chuffinghell
  • Agree 2

Looking at the diagram some clarification is needed. All the above advice is correct but I just want to make sure when you refer to the blades of the points that each blade has its own bond to its relevant outside rail that it touches. The diagram is not clear on this point.

• RMweb Gold
1 hour ago, Andymsa said:

Looking at the diagram some clarification is needed. All the above advice is correct but I just want to make sure when you refer to the blades of the points that each blade has its own bond to its relevant outside rail that it touches. The diagram is not clear on this point.

Yes each blade will have a bond to it’s adjacent rail

23A35FFD-0038-4256-8ABD-AF7C037EC513.jpeg

• Informative/Useful 1

• RMweb Gold
33 minutes ago, jpendle said:

Just to stick my N Gauge nose in.

If this is N Gauge no mods are needed.

Regards,

John P

I failed to mention it’s OO gauge, I would have preferred N gauge but my eyes aren’t as good as they used to be 

• RMweb Gold
56 minutes ago, dasatcopthorne said:

Surely in the original diagram the upper pair & the point on the right is incorrect.

It shows both blades with the same (red) polarity.

Dave.

Well spotted, a simple ‘colouring in’ mistake, should be green

Have I got it right despite colouring it in wrong?

D083BA44-E0B2-479C-B65E-D65EB3F49505.jpeg

Edited by chuffinghell
  • Like 1

• RMweb Premium

Yes, it's right.